Committee Members

Education Committee

The AAP’s Education Committee develops educational content and professional development material for AAP members and the physiatry community at large.

  • Vu Q. C. Nguyen, MD - Chair
  • Heather Baer, MD, PhD
  • Sean Bemanian, MD
  • Marcia Bockbrader, MD, PhD
  • Didem Inanoglu, MD
  • Robert Irwin, MD
  • Joslyn John, MD
  • Nicholas Ketchum, MD
  • Jonathan Kirschner, MD
  • Michael Mallow, MD
  • Susan McDowell, MD
  • Komal Patel, MD (Resident Representative
  • Roderick Sembrano, MD
  • Matthew Shatzer, MD
  • Carol Vandenakker-Albanese, MD

Governance Committee

The AAP’s Governance Committee oversees the administrative functioning of the association, including financial positioning, legal documents and policies and procedures.

  • Adam Stein, MD - Chair
  • Allison Bean, MD, PhD (Resident Representative)
  • Pablo Celnik, MD
  • Gerard Francisco, MD
  • David Gater, MD
  • Laura Kezar, MD
  • Subhadra Nori, MD
  • Danielle Perret Karimi, MD
  • Gwendolyn Sowa, MD, PhD
  • Ross Zafonte, MD

Leadership Development & Recognition Committee

The AAP’s Leadership Development & Recognition Committee develops and recognizes leadership within the association by reviewing volunteer applications, filling committee openings and selecting annual award recipients.

  • Gerard Francisco, MD - Chair
  • Anne Felicia Ambrose, MD, MS
  • Thiru Annaswamy, MD, MA
  • Allison Bean, MD, PhD (Resident Representative)
  • Miguel Escalon, MD
  • Cindy Grogg
  • Flora Hammond, MD
  • Michael Saulino, MD, PhD
  • Adam Stein, MD
  • Monica Tietsworth, MBA
  • Chris Visco, MD
  • Lyn Weiss, MD

Membership Committee

The AAP’s Membership Committee strengthens member retention and recruitment through activities such as targeted recruitment efforts, surveys and focus groups and working with other committees to increase member value.

  • Samuel Bierner, MD - Chair
  • Chris Cherian, MD (Resident Representative)
  • Lester Duplechan, MD
  • Marlis Gonzalez-Fernandez, MD, PhD
  • Patti Hayden
  • Alice Hon, MD
  • Jeffrey Jenkins, MD
  • Kirk Lercher, MD
  • Betty Liu, MD, PhD
  • Rosanna Sabini, DO
  • Fernando Sepulveda, MD
  • Diane Thompson, MD, MS
  • Tiffany Williams, MD
  • Lori Yap, MD

Program Committee

The AAP’s Program Committee develops and plans educational sessions for the AAP’s Annual Meeting.

  • Mooyeon Oh-Park, MD - Chair
  • Mohammad Ahga, MD
  • Karen Barr, MD
  • Nikola Dragojlovic, MD
  • Daniel Fetchtner, MD
  • Stephen Hampton, MD
  • Daniel Herman, MD, PhD
  • James Hill, III, MD, MPH
  • Ashlee Jaffe, MD
  • Manuel Mas, MD
  • Gerardo Miranda-Comas, MD
  • Monica Rho, MD
  • Karl Sandin, MD, MPH
  • Raman Sharma, MD
  • Jean Woo, MD (Resident Representative)

Public Policy Committee

The AAP’s Public Policy Committee monitors and advocates for the public policy interests of the AAP, research funding and medical and graduate medical education.

  • John Whyte, MD, PhD - Chair
  • Justin Hata, MD
  • John Melvin, MD
  • Karen Morice, MD
  • Benjamin Nguyen, MD
  • Danielle Perret Karimi, MD
  • Neal Rakesh, MD (Resident Representative)
  • Beverly Roberts-Atwater, DO, PhD
  • Felicia Skelton, MD
  • Chloe Slocum, MD
  • Adam Stein, MD
  • Richard Wilson, MD, MS
  • Sam Wu, MD

Research Committee

The AAP’s Research Committee supports individuals and organizations interested in research through education, resources and outreach.

  • David Morgenroth, MD - Chair
  • Carmen Cirstea, MD, PhD
  • Brad Dicianno, MD
  • Michael Fredericson, MD
  • Prakash Jayabalan, MD
  • Sabrina Paganoni, MD, PhD
  • Preeti Raghavan, MD
  • John-Ross (JR) Risso, MD
  • Lumy Sawaki, MD
  • Allison Schroeder, MD (Resident Representative)
  • Pradeep Suri, MD, MS
  • Stacey Suskauer, MD

CME Committee

The AAP’s CME Committee oversees all CME policies and activities, including ensuring ACCME compliance, originating new policies and participating in ACCME re-accreditation.

  • Vu Q. C. Nguyen, MD - Chair
  • Mooyeon Oh-Park, MD
  • Gwendolyn Sowa, MD, PhD
  • James Sliwa, DO