PM&R Medical Student Career Advisors

Advisors by Region

Have questions about PM&R residencies, career options or physiatry in general? The AAP's advisors are here to provide you with program-neutral assistance. They are listed below by geographic area, but you are welcome to contact any of them.

Do you have a specific question you would like to ask anonymously? Submit your question and AAP staff will contact the PM&R advisors for an answer and send the information back to you - all without giving your personal information to the advisors. Ask a Question

   

New England Region

Ashwin Babu, MD
Assistant Program Director, Spaulding/Harvard PM&R Residency Training Program
Sports Medicine Physiatrist, Massachusetts General Hospital – Sports Medicine Service
Clinical Instructor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Harvard Medical School
MGH Sports Medicine
175 Cambridge Street, Suite 400
Boston, MA 02138
Phone: 617-643-0821
Email: Ashwin.Babu@mgh.harvard.edu


Dorothy Weiss Tolchin, MD, EdM
Director, Introduction to PM&R Clerkship, Harvard Medical School
Director, Medical Student Education Programming, Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Instructor, PM&R, Harvard Medical School
dweiss2@partners.org
Phone: 617-512-4502


Mideast Region

Nethra Ankam, MD
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Medical Education
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
Co-Director, Jefferson Health Mentors Program
Jefferson Center for InterProfessional Education
25 S. 9th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone: 215-955-1213
nethra.ankam@jefferson.edu


Mohammad Islam, MD
Student Director and Advisor
Assistant Professor Department of PM&R
School of Medicine New York Medical College
m_islam@nymc.edu
212-423-6448

Gerardo Miranda-Comas, MDClint
Assistant Professor
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
10 Union Square East, 5P
New York, NY 10003
gerardo.miranda-comas@mountsinai.org


Sam Rosenberg, DO
Director - Sub Acute Rehabilitation
Department of Rehabilitation & Regenerative Medicine
Columbia University Medical Center
180 Fort Washington Ave
New York, NY 10032
sr3187@cumc.columbia.edu


Maya Therattil, MD
Director of Medical Education for the Clinical Education Program
St. Lawrence Rehabilitation Center and Drexel University College of Medicine
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
mtherattil@aol.com


Eric Wisotzky, MD
Chief, Division of Rehabilitation Medicine
Associate Program Director, MedStar GUH-NRH PM&R Residency Training Program
Director of Cancer Rehabilitation
Program Director, Cancer Rehabilitation Fellowship
Assistant Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine, Georgetown University School of Medicine
MedStar National Rehabilitation Network
102 Irving Street, NW
Washington, DC 20010
Phone: 202-877-1382
eric.m.wisotzky@medstar.net


Southeast Region

Drew Davis, MD
Division Director and Associate Professor
Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Children’s of Alabama
Dearth Tower, 5601 McWane
1600 7th Ave. S
Birmingham, AL 35233
Phone: 205-638-9790
DDavis@peds.uab.edu
https://www.childrensal.org/rehabilitation-medicine


Clinton Faulk, MD
Vice Chairman, Associate Professor
Residency Program Director ECU PM&R
Vidant Wound Healing Center Medical Director
General Rehabilitation Medical Director
American College of Clinical Wound Specialists Fellow
600 Moye Blvd
Greenville, NC 27834
Phone: 252-847-1415
FaulkC@ecu.edu


Fernando Sepulveda-Irizarry, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Medicine, Rehabilitation and Sports Health
University of Puerto Rico
fernando.sepulveda@upr.edu


Laura Kezar, MD
Associate Dean for Students
Professor of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
UAB / University of Alabama at Birmingham
VH 100 1720 2nd Ave S.
Birmingham, AL 35294
Phone: 205-934-0556
kezar@uab.edu


Danielle Powell, MD
Assistant Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
UAB/University of Alabama at Birmingham
144 Spain Rehabilitation Center
1717 6th Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 25233
Phone: 205-934-5674
Email: daniellepowell@uabmc.edu


Lee Shuping, MD, MPT
Clinical Assistant Professor, UNC Dept of PM&R
Director of Medical Student Education
Associate Medical Director of UNC University Employee Occupational Health Clinic
lee_shuping@med.unc.edu
Phone: 984-974-9747


Catherine Schuster, MD
Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine
Associate Professor, University of Louisville, Frazier Rehabilitation Institute
catherine.schuster@ulp.org
Phone: 502-588-4707



Great Lakes Region

Anthony Chiodo, MD, MBA
Professor, University of Michigan
Clinical Director of Spinal Cord Medicine
University of Michigan Hospital
325 E. Eisenhower, Suite 200
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
tchiodo@med.umich.edu


Ravi E. Kasi, MD
Assistant Professor, Assistant Residency Program Director, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Attending Physician, Rehab Associates of Chicago
Rush University Medical Center
1725 W Harrison Street, Suite 118
Chicago, IL 60612
Phone: 312-942-8905
Email: Ravi_Kasi@Rush.edu


Theresa Lie-Nemeth, MD
Attending Physician
Schwab Rehabilitation Hospital
1401 S. California Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60608
Phone: 773-565-3025
theresa.lie-nemeth@sinai.org


Whitney Luke, MD
Assistant Professor - Clinical
Director of Outpatient Cancer Rehabilitation and Interventional Cancer Pain Management
Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Email: Whitney.Luke@osumc.edu
Assistant: 614-366-3128


Holly Pajor, DO
Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Associate Program Director PM&R Residency Program
University of Cincinnati
pajorhk@ucmail.uc.edu


M. Catherine Spires, MD
Associate Chair for Education
Medical Director, Canton and Briarwood Med Rehab
Residency Program Director, University of Michigan Hospital
mcspires@med.umich.edu
Phone: 734-764-8347

Plains Region

Diane Mortimer, MD, MS
Attending Physician
Minneapolis VA Medical Center
1 Veterans Drive, Mail Code 117
Minneapolis, MN 55417
diane.mortimer67@gmail.com

Brionn Tonkin, MD
Program Director
University of Minnesota Physical Medicine & Rehab
420 Deleware St SE, MMC 297
Minneapolis, MN 55455
tonki018@umn.edu
Phone: 612-626-4913 or 612-467-2044


Southwest Region

Glendaliz Bosques, MD
Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine
Assistant Professor, McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston
Department of PM&R
6431 Fannin Street, MSB G.550
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-500-5874
Glendaliz.BosquesMendez@uth.tmc.edu

Rita G. Hamilton, DO
Residency Program Director
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Director, Spinal Cord Injury Medicine
Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation
909 N. Washington
Dallas, TX 74246
Rita.Hamilton@BSWHealth.org


Jennifer Yang, MD
UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Fellowship Program Director
5323 Harry Hines Blvd.
Dallas, TX 75390
Phone: 214-648-3478
Jennifer.Yang@UTSouthwestern.edu


Rocky Mountain Region

Susan Garstang, MD
Associate Professor, University of Utah Medical School
Division of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
30 North 1900 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84132
Phone: 801-581-7985
Susan.Garstang@va.gov



Pacific Region

Danielle Perret Karimi, MD
Associate Clinical Professor, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation;
Associate Clinical Professor, Anesthesiology;
UC ePIC Ambulatory Champion
Fellowship Director, Pain Medicine
The University of California, Irvine
101 The City Drive South
Bldg. 53, Suite 311A
Irvine, CA 92868
dperret@uci.edu


Ny-Ying Lam, MD
Acting Assistant Professor
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine
University of Washington
Box 356490
1959 Northeast Pacific Street
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 206-616-0327
nlam2@uw.edu


For more information, contact Member Services Manager Amy Schnappinger at aschnappinger@physiatry.org or 410-654-1000.