# **2025 PAL Presenter Bios**

#### Dixie Aragaki, MD

- Program Director, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Residency, UCLA/VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System
- Professor, Division of PM&R, Dept of Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
- Recently appointed Associate Director of the Program for Academic Leadership in the AAP
- AJPMR CME Editor
- AAP CME Committee Member
- Dixie.Aragaki@va.gov

## Kate Beller, JD

- President. American Medical Rehabilitation Providers Association
- kbeller@amrpa.org

# William Bockenek, MD, CPE

- Chief Medical Officer, Carolinas Rehabilitation
- Vice-Chair of Academics, Department of PM&R, Carolinas Medical Center
- Clinical Professor, Dept of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, Wake Forest School of Medicine
- Spinal Cord Injury Medicine Fellowship Director, Carolinas Medical Center/Carolinas Rehabilitation
- Past Program Director of the Program for Academic Leadership in the AAP
- William.Bockenek@atriumhealth.org

## Diane Braza, MD

- Professor with Tenure, PM&R, Medical College of Wisconsin
- Past Chair, AAP Department Chair & Division Chiefs Council
- DBraza@mcw.edu

#### Pablo Celnik, MD

- Chief Executive Officer of Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
- Professor Emeritus and former Department Chair, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
- Member National Academy of Medicine
- Secretary/Treasurer, AAP Board of Trustees
- pcelnik@sralab.org

# John Chae, MD, ME

- Senior Associate Dean for Medical Affairs, Case Western Reserve University
- Professor of PM&R and Biomedical Engineering, Case Western Reserve University
- Executive Vice President, Chief Academic Officer, The MetroHealth System
- Director, AAP Program for Academic Leadership
- jchae@metrohealth.org

#### **Gerard Francisco, MD**

- The Wulfe Family Chair of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, UTHealth McGovern Medical School at Houston
- Professor (with tenure) and Distinguished Teaching Professor, UT Systems
- Chief Medical Officer and Clinical Scientist, TIRR Memorial Hermann
- Founding Director, UTHealth NeuroRecovery Research Center at TIRR Memorial Hermann
- Past President, AAP
- Chair, Physiatry Foundation Advisory Board
- Gerard.E.Francisco@uth.tmc.edu

#### Bruce Gans, MD

- Professor of PM&R at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
- Senior Health Policy Advisor, Powers Pyles Sutter & Verville PC
- President, Gans Associates LLC
- Secretary, Global Partners for Rehabilitation
- Past President, AAP
- bgans@GansAssociates.com

#### Christopher J. Garrison, MD

- Associate Program Director for Quality Improvement Education and Faculty Development, Baylor University Medical Center- Dallas
- Texas A&M University College Station, Texas & Dell Medical School Austin, Texas
- Medical Director for Quality and Care Continuity, Baylor Scott and White Institute for Rehabilitation Dallas
- christopher.garrison@bswhealth.org

# Carolyn Geis, MD

- Clinical Adjunct Professor, University of Florida
- Attending Physician, Brooks Rehabilitation
- AJPMR Reviewer
- Carolyn.Geis@Brooksrehab.org

## Michelle Gittler, MD

- Medical Director & Residency Program Director, Schwab Rehabilitation Hospital
- Chief Medical Officer, Sinai Health System Post-Acute Care
- gitm@sinai.org

# Rita Hamilton, DO

- Department Chief & Residency Program Director, Baylor University Medical Center
- Chief Medical Officer, Baylor Scott & White Institute for Rehabilitation; Medical Director, Baylor Scott and White Institute for Rehabilitation, Dallas
- Secretary, AAP Chair Council
- Rita.hamilton@BSWHealth.org

## Amanda Harrington, MD

- Assistant Professor PM&R, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
- Program Director, Spinal Cord Injury Medicine Fellowship and Associate Program Director, PM&R Residency, UPMC
- Medical Director of SCI Serviced, UPMC Rehabilitation Institute
- harringtonal@upmc.edu

## John Norbury, MD

- Virginia Commonwealth University
- Former Inaugural Division Chief of PM&R and Program Director, Texas Tech PM&R
- Member AAP Education Committee
- john.norbury@gmail.com

# Vishwa Raj, MD

- Interim Chair, Department of PM&R, Carolinas Medical Center
- Clinical Professor, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, Wake Forest School of Medicine
- Chief, Section of Rehabilitation, Department of Supportive Care, Levine Cancer
- Medical Director, Carolinas Rehabilitation and Interim Specialty Medical Director of PM&R, Atrium Health
- Vishwa.Raj@atriumhealth.org

#### Monica Rho, MD

- Professor, Department of PM&R, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
- Section Chief, Musculoskeletal Medicine & Director of Residency Training, Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
- mrho@sralab.org

#### W. Evan Rivers, DO

- Chief of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Service, VA Tennessee Valley Healthcare System
- Associate Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
- AAP Public Policy Committee
- evanrivers@gmail.com

## James Sliwa, DO

- Professor Department of Physical Medicne and Rehabilitation and Medical Education, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
- Chief Medical Officer, Chief Quality and Safety Officer Shirley Ryan Abilitylab
- jsliwa@sralab.org

#### Robert Smith, PhD

- Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Case Western Reserve University, School of Medicine, and MetroHealth System
- Director, Medical Staff Assistance Program, MetroHealth System
- rsmith3@metrohealth.org

## Gwendolyn Sowa, MD, PhD

- Chair of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- Director of the UPMC Rehabilitation Institute and the medical director of UPMC Total Care -Musculoskeletal Health
- Co-director of the Ferguson Laboratory for Orthopaedic and Spine Research, and holds joint appointments in the Departments of Orthopaedic Surgery and Bioengineering
- Immediate past president of AAP and Associate Editor for AJPMR
- sowaga@upmc.edu

# David Steinberg, MD, MMM

- Chair, Department of PM&R, University of Utah
- Executive Medical Director, Craig H. Neilsen Rehabilitation Hospital
- Chair of the AAP Chairs Council
- Chair of the AAP Presidential Task Force on Strengthening PM&R
- david.steinberg@hsc.utah.edu

#### Richard Wilson, MD, MS

- Professor and Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Case Western Reserve University
- Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, The MetroHealth System
- Co-Director, MetroHealth Rehabilitation Institute, The MetroHealth System
- Co-Director, MetroHealth Center for Rehabilitation Research, The MetroHealth System
- AAP Governance Committee, Past Member at Large, AAP Board of Trustees
- <u>rwilson@metrohealth.org</u>

# Eric Wisotzky, MD

- Chief, Division of Rehabilitation Medicine, Associate Designated Insitutional Official, MedStar Health
- Program Director, MedStar GUH-NRH PM&R Residency Training Program
- Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine, Georgetown University School of Medicine
- Chair of the AAP Residency/Fellowship Program Directors Council
- Eric.M.Wisotzky@medstar.net

# Greg Worsowicz, MD, MBA

- Consultant, Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
- Medical Director Inpatient Rehab Services
- Director of the AAP Advocacy & Public Policy Leadership Program
- Worsowicz.Gregory@mayo.edu

# Ross Zafonte, DO

- Executive Vice Dean, University of Missouri School of Medicine
- Former Earle P. and Ida S. Charlton Professor and Chair, Harvard Medical School
- Former President of Spaulding Rehabilitation Network
- Rzbg3@health.missouri.edu