Department Chairs & Chiefs


The AAP's Chair Council is a group of Department Chairs and Division Chiefs of an ACGME-approved PM&R program. All AAP members that meet the qualifications are automatic members of this community. Our mission is to work with the AAP to create the future of academic physiatry through mentorship, leadership and discovery. The council offers opportunities for Chairs and Chiefs to communicate important information, generate ideas, alert the appropriate people to critical issues and provide collegial support. We hope you'll get active in our community!

Every year at the AAP's Annual Meeting, Department Chairs and Division Chiefs come together to learn, share best practices and grow their network and impact. Join us in Puerto Rico at Physiatry '19! Here's a look at some of our exclusive sessions:

Thursday, February 21, 2019

Creating New PM&R Markets
Service Line Expansion
Pertinent Topic Discussions
Chair Council Meeting

Resources for Chairs

Faculty Salary Report: Each year, the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) releases a Faculty Salary Report which displays total compensation of full-time medical school faculty broken out by rank, degree, department/specialty, school ownership and region. The AAP is a proud member society of the AAMC's Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS). As a member, you get access to the Facuty Salary Report for free! Access the report to help guide the administration of your PM&R department. Simply call the AAP at 410-654-1000 or email us.

Physiatric Research Consulting: The AAP is proud to offer a Physiatric Research Consulting Program that provides customized assistance and recommendations for developing a physiatric research program for institutions currently seeking to expand or develop one. Learn more and get started!

PM&R Residency Expansion and Development Initiative (READI): The AAP's READI program aims to assist institutions in creating novel PM&R residency programs or improving the effectiveness of their existing program. If you are interested in having your residency program evaluated or establishing a new one, click here.

Connect & Collaborate

Active AAP members who are Chairs and Chiefs can share best practices, ask questions and and stay connected via the AAP's Chair listserv. Email the AAP if you would like to be added to the Google Group or are have problems receiving or sending messages.

Your Chair Council Leadership

Diane Braza, MD


Sara Cuccurullo, MD

Vice Chair


Secretary/ Program Director

Edward Hurvitz, MD

Past Chair


Diane Braza, MD

AAP Member Since 1991

Diane is the Chair and Professor in the Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation at the Medical College of Wisconsin.


Sara Cuccurullo, MD

AAP Member Since 1999

Sara is the Chair, Clinical Professor and Residency Program Director of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation at Rutgers-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School/JFK Medical Center. She also serves as the Medical Director and VP of JFK Johnson Rehabilitation Institute.



Are you an active Diplomate member of the AAP and eager to get involved in the Council? Contact us if you'd like to take on this position!


Edward Hurvitz, MD

AAP Member Since 2006

Edward is the Chair and Professor in the Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation at the University of Michigan.