Donate   |   Member Portal   |   Sign In   |   Join
Search AAP
AAP Awards Criteria & Descriptions
Share |
Become an Academic Partner of the AAP

view past award winners 

distinguished Academician

This award shall be given to a member of the Association who has achieved distinction and peer recognition regionally or nationally by virtue of excellence as a teacher, researcher and/or administrator. This award shall be given to no more than one member in any particular year. Those honored as Distinguished Members are not eligible for the award.

Early Career Academician

This award shall honor an academic physiatrist who has demonstrated outstanding performance in the areas of teaching, research and/or administration. The nominee must have an academic rank of associate professor or less and be nominated within 10 years of completing clinical residency or fellowship training or 7 years after the completion of a funded, mentored research award. This award can be given to only one member in any particular year.

    Outstanding Service

    This honor is given to a member who has made major contributions to the organization or to the field through the Association over a significant period of time.

    Public Service

    This award will be for a non-member whose outstanding public service has significantly contributed to the organization or the field. Honorary members or Association employees are not eligible for this award.

    McLean Outstanding Resident/Fellow

    This award will be given to a member Resident/Fellow who demonstrates outstanding academic performance in academic leadership, teaching and education, and research. Nominations for the McLean Outstanding Resident/Fellow Award must also include a letter of recommendation from the nominee's Program Director.

    Distinguished Member

    This award is selected by a unanimous vote of the Awards Committee and by the Board of Trustees. Only one candidate may be nominated per year. Final selection is by a three-fourths affirmative vote of members present at a General Business Session. This award category of membership is reserved for the most distinguished physiatrist, an individual who is of international status, is recognized as a major contributor to the field by virtue of teaching, research, and scholarly publications and is noted for dedicated service to the AAP. Distinguished members have the right to vote and hold office and have a lifetime exemption from any dues or fees.

    Carolyn Braddom Ritzler Resarch Award

    This award is presented to an individual who has conducted research that has had profound impact on the science and/or practice of PM&R. The intent is to look at impact such as changes in clinical care, policy, or research direction. The awardee should preferably be a physiatrist and an Association member. The same individual can win the award only once in a ten-year period. The individual will be presented with a plaque and a monetary award from income from the Braddom endowment. A poster, video, or handout of the research should be made available at the annual meeting.

    AAP's Mission

    Creating the future of academic physiatry through mentorship, leadership, and discovery.

    Contact Us

    Association of Academic Physiatrists
    10461 Mill Run Circle, Suite 730
    Owings Mills, MD 21117
    P. 410.654.1000 F. 410.654.1001

    Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal