Donate   |   Member Portal   |   Sign In   |   Join
Search AAP
AAP Award Winners
Share |
member benefits

The AAP wishes to recognize the following individuals for their contributions and devoted support to the AAP and the field of PM&R:

Distinguished Academician Award

2017      Steven Kirshblum, MD 

2016     Michael Boninger, MD
2015     Jeffrey B. Palmer, MD
2014     Leighton Chan, MD
2012     Diana Cardenas, MD, MHA
2011     William H. Donovan, MD
2010     Carmen M. Terzic, MD
2009     John Whyte, MD, PhD
2008     W. Jerry Mysiw, MD
2007     Ross D. Zafonte, DO
2006     Martin Grabois, MD
2005     Walter R. Frontera, MD, PhD
2004     Margaret G. Stineman, MD
2003     Lawrence R. Robinson, MD
2002     Lynn H. Gerber, MD
2001     George H. Kraft, MD, MS
2000     Daniel Dumitru, MD, PhD
1999     Joel A. DeLisa, MD, MD
1998     Carl Granger, MD
1997     Barbara J. deLateur, MD
1996     Gerald J. Herbison, MD
1995     John F. Ditunno, Jr., MD

Early Career Academician Award

2017     Sheng Li, MD, PhD

2016     Nitin Jain, MD, MSPH
2015     David Morgenroth, MD
2014     Brad G. Kurowski, MD, MS
2012     Amy Houtrow, MD, PhD, MPH
2011     Leslie R. Morse, DO
2010     Brad E. Dicianno , MD
2009     Neil Segal, MD
2008     Gwendolyn Sowa, MD, PhD
2007     Laura W. Lee, MD
2006     Pablo Celnik, MD
2006     Henry L. Lew, MD, PhD
2005     Lisa S. Krivickas, MD
2004     Amy K. Wagner, MD
2003     Steven C. Kirshblum, MD
2002     John Chae, MD
2001     David R. Gater, Jr., MD, PhD
2001     Lisa P. Fugate, MD
2000     Flora Hammond, MD
1999     Leighton Chan, MD
1998     Charles E. Levy, MD
1997     Michael L. Boninger, MD
1996     Craig M. McDonald, MD

Outstanding Service Award

2016     John Whyte, MD, PhD 

2015     Kristjan T. Ragnarsson, MD
2014     Lawrence C. Pencak
2012     John C. King, MD
2011     Cindy Weber
2010     Kenneth J. Ottenbacher, PhD
2009     Walter R. Frontera, MD, PhD
2008     Gary S. Clark, MD, CPE, MMM
2007     Carolyn Braddom-Ritzler, EdD
2006     Teresa L. Massagli, MD
2005     Barry S. Smith, MD
2004     Thomas E. Strax, MD
2002     Jay V. Subbarao, MD
2001     Mehrsheed Sinaki, MD
1999     Bruce M. Gans, MD
1998     Randall L. Braddom, MD, MS
1997     Martin Grabois, MD
1996     Joel A. DeLisa, MD, MS
1995     Paul J. Corcoran, MD 

Public Service Award

2017     Alison Cernich, PhD

2015     Geoffrey Ling, MD, PhD
2013     Craig H. Neilsen Foundation
2010     Tom Harkin, IA US Senator
2007     Ruth Brannon, MSPH, Director, Division of Research Sciences, NIDRR
2006     Edward M. Kennedy, MA US Senator
2005     Duane Alexander, MD, Director, NICHD
2004     Frank A. LoBiondo, US Congressman
2003     David C. Leach, MD, CEO, ACGME
2002     Richard E. Verville, JD, Powers Pyles Sutter & Verville
2001     James Peters
2000     Christopher Reeve
1999     Katherine A. Seelman, PhD, Director, NIDRR
1998     John E. Porter, US Congressman, IL State
1997     Henry B. Betts, MD
1996     Marcus J. Fuhrer, PhD
1995     Slade Gorton, US Senator - WA

Distinguished Member Award

2014     Bruce M. Gans, MD
2010     Martin Grabois, MD
2009     Randall L. Braddom, MD
2008     Barbara J. deLateur, MD, MS
2007     Paul J. Corcoran, MD
2006     Joel A. DeLisa, MD, MS
2005     Carl V. Granger, MD
2003     Henry B. Betts, MD
2002     John L. Melvin, MD
2001     John F. Ditunno, Jr., MD
1992     Justus F. Lehmann, MD
1991     Frederic J. Kottke, MD, PhD
1990     Ernest W. Johnson, MD

McLean Outstanding Resident/Fellow Award

2017     Joshua Rothenberg, DO

2016     Daniel Cushman, MD
2015     Prakash Jayabalan, MD, PhD
2014     Kentaro Onishi, DO
2011     Nitin Jain, MD, MSPH
2010     Daniel C. Herman, MD, PhD

Carolyn Braddom Ritzler Research Award

2017     Pablo Celnik, MD

2015     Jonathan F. Bean, MD, MPH, MS
2013    Todd A. Kuiken, MD, PhD
2006     John Chae, MD
2003     James K. Richardson, MD
2001     Margaret G. Stineman, MD

American Journal of PM&R Excellence in Research Writing Award

2016     Ju Seok Ryu, PhD, MD 

2016     Zhongming Huang, PhD, MD
2015     Patricia Quigley, PhD, ARNP, CRRN
2014     James H. Rimmer, PhD
2013    Alberto Esquenazi, MD
2012     Joel Stein, MD
2011     Andrea L. Cheville, MD, MSCE
2010     John Whyte, MD, PhD
2009     Patrick Kortebein, MD
2009     Gwendolyn Sowa, MD, PhD
2008     Trina K. DeMott, MD, PT
2006     Henry Tong, MD, MS
2005     John Chae, MD, ME
2004     Diane U. Jette, PT, DSc
2003     Faye Y. Chiou-Tan, MD
2002     James L. Cosgrove, MD
2001     William O. McKinley, MD
2000     Thao M.P. Tran, MD
2000     Kenneth J. Ottenbacher, PhD
1999     Laura W. Lee, MD
1999     Timothy R. Dillingham, MD
1998     Andreas Schmid, MD
1998    Mark A. Wineinger, MD
1997    Laura W. Lee, MD
1997    Daniel Dumitru, MD
1996    Kimberly K. BeDell, MD
1996    Kevin M. Means, MD
1995    John Chae, MD
1995    Robert A. Werner, MD, MS
1994    Barbara Ross-Rothweiler, PhD, MS
1994    Denise I. Campagnolo, MD, MS
1993    Paul Dreyfuss, MD
1993    Susan J. Dreyer, MD
1992    John R. Bach, MD
1992    Frank John English Falco, MD
1992    Lawrence R. Robinson, MD
1991    D. Casey Kerrigan, MD
1991    Barbara J. deLateur, MD, MS
1990    C. Jill Calder, MD

Ernest W. Johnson Excellence in Research Writing In-Training Award

2014     Jennifer Soo Hoo, MD
2013     Siera Goodnight, MPH
2012     Angela Garcia, MD
2011     Whitney Chouteau, DO
2010     Sheila Jean McNeill Ingham, MD
2009     Christopher A. Taylor, MD
2008     Nitin B. Jain, MD, MSPH
2005     Edvin B. Koshi, MD
2005     XIN Wang, MD
2004     Ju Seok Ryu, MD
2003     Eric Zemper, PhD
2002     Rana Hinma
2001     Wannapha Petchkrua, MD


AAP's Mission

Creating the future of academic physiatry through mentorship, leadership, and discovery.

Contact Us

Association of Academic Physiatrists
10461 Mill Run Circle, Suite 730
Owings Mills, MD 21117
P. 410.654.1000 F. 410.654.1001

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal